Ripple Effect

In my first class last week,  the focus was  ‘ me’. I was  thinking about how I was  coming across – was I saying, acting, responding the right way?  I was holding on to the shreds of my dignity with all my might.

The second class, I was  prepared to let go off the ‘me’  a little and focus a bit more on what the other person – in this case, the children needed and wanted.

Our focus in Siragugal  is to get  children to read. Today , at the suggestion of a friend, I tried flash cards. Some of them downloaded from an amazingly helpful ESL site. Enthusiastically, I prepared a lot and was able to use but half. I have to slow down the pace if I really want words to sink in.

Three unexpected encounters happened today, which left me feeling good inside.

–         a teacher who volunteered to stay back in the class to watch and listen and occasionally threaten the kids, asked me if I would teach her and her friends to speak English. So my class must have been good.:-)

–         Dr.V, stopped me on the way to give me small  gift, a tiny copy of the Bhagavad Geetha

–         A lady who never used to give me the time of day before, stopped me with wide smiles to interview me about Siragugal for her newspaper.

At the end of the day, when I was looking back upon the whole day, I suddenly realized that all three encounters stemmed from establishing Sirgagual and going out to teach these kids.

I’ve seen very often, that when I step out of my routine to do something, then one thing leads to another and Im involved in a chain of exciting activities. But to create the ripple, I have to exert myself and cast the first stone.

I’ve found this one of the best rules in life to follow….

No matter how you feel, get up, dress up and show up.

I found this in  an oft-circulated email on Lessons Life Taught Me by Regina Brett, 90 years old. But she’s only 53 , explains Snopes.com and all the other 45 lessons in life are detailed here.

Leave a Reply

