The cup that comforts

I’ve been researching tea drinking, actually pics of people drinking tea and there seems to be so much joy around this liquid and so many ways of doing it too.

My maid, Jess and I have chai at 11  most days, Indian style,  with sugar and milk, brewed for a few minutes on the stove, to a dark looking liquid which is the way she likes it. Since she is the one making it, I’ve learnt to like it that way. Occasionally on the weekend, I will take the time to brew a more delicate tea without milk into a fine gold liquid when one can really taste the flavor. Sometimes, its tangy lemon tea which I prefer hot and comes as a ready made powder from Lipton. Tea bags though are a no-no.

But recently, I’ve taken to drinking green tea as a healthier option. This morning, Jess brewed it into a rather bitterish liquid and gave it to me in a huge mug. Maybe time for a raise.

But, cupping both my hands around the mug and drinking in slurps as I stared into the computer was so comforting, I was taken aback. Why hadn’t I tried this before instead of delicately sipping (somehow this goes with a porcelain cup), or drinking without really noticing from a steel tumbler, or grasping the handle of a normal mug. None of them had been so satisfying. Even drinking from a glass tumbler at a wayside chai kadai while traveling.

Tea etiquette says “Tea cups with a handle are held by placing one’s fingers to the front and back of the handle with one’s pinkie up again allows balance. Pinkie up does mean straight up in the air, but slightly tilted. It is not an affectation, but a graceful way to avoid spills. Never loop your fingers through the handle, nor grasp the vessel bowl with the palm of your hand.”…

But for me, its going to be both hands around the cup here on……

6 thoughts on “The cup that comforts

  1. And after the cuppa, place the mug close to the cheek and feel the warmth – especially on a cold day, though I am told it is not the right thing to do, especially if you have a sinusitis.

Leave a Reply

