Thinking Peacefully About People

Notice how difficult it is merely to think in peace about any individual who comes to mind.

When I read this line by Hugh Prather, it suddenly struck home. I must have read this line or something with the same meaning many times before, but this time I was ready for it.  And I thought, how much truth is there in this line.

When I think of so many people who I would classify as ‘close’ in my life, the first thoughts seem to be negative. The ‘bad’ things they do or they have done spring up in my mind. Yet, I am fond of each one of them. Then, why does the bad that they do live on in my mind?

Once, I realised that, I have become much more conscious about my thoughts. I am able to watch my mind much more and catch it  when it does think negatively about someone. And replace it with a thought about some positive trait in this person.  It does make me feel much lighter and I’m getting better at thinking positively about people.

And the fact that  Hugh Prather ( who wrote Notes to Myself) has brought this up  several times in his Morning Notes means that it is a very common human failing and feeling. Which is comforting.

I have to face and realise the negative parts of my mind , he says and so do I . And there is always room to change attitudes.

6 thoughts on “Thinking Peacefully About People

  1. I love this post. I, too, often find how surprised and disappointed I am at myself for thinking of a person and immediately finding my thoughts flooded with often negative ideas, images, etc. about that person…often about a person I love. Or someone who I might see on a daily basis, whom I will surely get along with better if I think about him/her with compassion, kindness, and generosity. Thank you for reminding me again that it’s in my power to change the way I think and the way I live.

  2. Laurie, thanks for visiting. And staying to read.
    And for sharing your thoughts on negative thoughts and ideas. Its very comforting to know that its an universally human trait.
    Because you made this comment, this idea has come up to the top of my head again. Otherwise, we have good resolutions, which sink down somewhere with the passage of time. Thanks.Im glad it struck a note with you too.

Leave a Reply

