Doing To Done

Focus on accomplishing what has the highest emotional (relationship investments) or monetary payoffs first.

When I read this, I thought it was a terrific idea. I for one, put off making my phone calls as long as possible. And those calls – to say good luck before an exam,  enquiring about someone’s health, updating someone on something, getting information,  really contribute to one’s relationships.

So, today after reading this I was inspired to start at once on making a cake which was on my To-Do list but wasn’t getting done. I quit baking after my kids left home but have started again, nowadays mostly when Im going to visit my father and aunt. They appreciate home-made cake since its softer ; especially since I make it with home made butter.

I wanted to try something with bananas, since there were too many ripening at once and I’m the banana eater at home and I’m not going to be home for a few days. The cake  turned out to be soft and rather squishy and Im hoping the old people will like it.

Banana And Date Triangles

2  bananas

Juice of 1 lemon

1 cup of dates, chopped

3 level tbsp soft brown sugar (or jaggery)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup  butter or margarine

1 large egg

1/4 cup of ground almonds ( I used cashew)

1 cupflour +  1/2 tsp Baking powder

Peel and slice the bananas and sprinkle the lemon juice over it. Add chopped dates and brown sugar and mix.

Cream the butter and sugar together. Beat in the egg. Fold in the ground almonds then the banana and date mix and the flour.

Bake in an oiled 7″ x 11″ pan for 40 min on slow heat.

The second one is quick and easy . I skip the icing part generally. Sugar can be increased slightly to make up if you have a sweet tooth.

Lamington Cakes.      

1 1/2 cups flour + b.p.

1 tbspn custard powder

1 cup caster sugar

1/2 cup milk

1/4 cup soft butter

2 eggs,lightly beatn

1/2 tsp vanilla esence

Combine all the cake ingredients in a large bowl and mix well. Bake for 25 min at low heat. Turn out,cool and cut into squares.

Icing: dip each cake in  chocolate icing and coat with coconut.

Happy Eating!

pic courtesy : The Perfect Cake Book

Leave a Reply

