Simplifying

I put on a dress which I wear at home very often because it washes very easily and is no-iron and suddenly, it seemed very displeasing. Too large, too long, cut wrong and stained. Why did I wake up suddenly and look at it so critically? I don’t know. But it had to go. Just last week I had given away a few clothes and now this didn’t suit me either.

Somehow stuff creeps into houses and wardrobes.  unclutter.com suggests imagining a red rope  barrier and only ‘things you truly value’ can pass through the barrier into our homes. A good idea but the stuff already inside? Imagine it coming in again and if it doesn’t  pass the test… give it away.

But sometimes our  ideas can go too far and we deprive ourselves unnecessarily. I remember lusting over a small pair of brass lamps. I was in a ‘won’t-buy-anything-for-my-house-for-a-year ‘ phase and I didn’t let myself buy them for me- I bought them for a friend because I liked them so much. But I still feel slightly deprived when I see them in her house.

Gandhi on giving up things ” As long as you derive inner help and comfort from anything, you should keep it. If you were to give it up in a mood of self-sacrifice or out of a stern sense of duty, you would continue to want it back, and that unsatisfied want would make trouble for you. Only give up a thing when you want some other condition so much that the thing no longer has any attraction for you, or when it seems to interfere with that which is more greatly desired. “

I’m also falling into the habit of going and out and doing  just one chore every afternoon – by walk. And life isn’t really falling apart. Nothing is that important that it can’t wait!

It also saves me from items on my to-do list that never get done. Just the most pressing stuff gets done and it frees my mind so much, its really nice.

4 thoughts on “Simplifying

Leave a Reply

