Sweet November

My birthday passed by this week. It wasn’t particularly a momentous day, one that I will remember in the years to come. But looking back, I really can’t recall any that were particularly momentous.  In childhood I must have had birthday parties with my mother making a terrific effort to cook and feed. But I cannot evoke particular events although the choked up excitement before a birthday is hard to forget.And maybe that is why photographs are so useful. 

I remember a birthday when Sindhu managed to make and bake a cake for me as a surprise during the time I was out on  a walk. Another birthday when both the kids arranged a surprise party for me at Sumathi’s.  Another when they made lots of small cards themselves with mad messages.  This time it was a nattily dressed package with an even more beautifully packaged bag inside with three packets of coffee from CoffeeDay sent by Sindhu. Certainly a surprising gift.

While several people wished me on Facebook and on the phone, three  friends took it on themselves to arrange a party in the library. It was fun. 

Which brings me to the realization that birthdays are about other people making us happy with wishes and gifts.

How do I make myself happy?

This November I have finally succumbed to Nanowrimo and started writing about 1800 words a day. Since Nanowrimo, doesn’t ask for much; it doesn’t ask you to submit work or ask you to write great stories or to write in a certain way; it asks you to write 3 pages everyday on your own – 1600 words a day for 30 days; not edited or seen or scrutinized. It’s  a very doable project.

Novel writing or just writing is making me very happy. It could be bad, mad or just plain ..yawn. It is probably chick-lit since a first novel usually has large chunks of autobiography. Which makes me wonder is there cock-lit or bull- lit?

Seth Godin writes

 Don’t wait for the right answer and the golden path to present themselves.

This is precisely why you’re stuck. Starting without seeing the end is difficult, so we often wait until we see the end, scanning relentlessly for the right way, the best way and the perfect way.

The way to get unstuck is to start down the wrong path, right now.

Step by step, page by page, interaction by interaction. As you start moving, you can’t help but improve, can’t help but incrementally find yourself getting back toward your north star.

You might not end up with perfect, but it’s significantly more valuable than being stuck.

Don’t just start. Continue. Ship. Repeat.

 

And that’s why I’m here. To write and get better and write and  find a way.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sweet November

  1. Been a long time since I updated the blog. I do have other blogs that do not take too much time to update. I hope 2013 will also see me writing.. Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

